Peach Skin Salt

IMG_0317

Let’s talk current trash can reality. Flimsy scraps of banana peels, small mounds of curled tea leaves, greased paper towels specked black from the cast iron and egg shells. Lots of egg shells.

I feel sheepish admitting that I do not have a compost bin under my sink – even when I advocate that everyone ought to try living more sustainably. Sometimes – and actually more often than not – I seal all of my food scraps in a giant ziplock bag until it is taught and bulging with onion skins, strawberry stems, and hollowed brown cups of avocado shell. I then tote the bag to school and with the most nonchalant sneakery that I can muster, I dump my accumulation of unwanted food unto the compost bins on school. I think it is a rather ingenious idea.

A few days ago I led a workshop on how to can peaches. We made this peach butter, only with thirty five pounds instead of four. We also were left with an enormous pile of peach skins. Having just recently seeing this post on Food52, I assumed if it worked for tomatoes then surely it would work for peaches too.

It did.

It’s somewhat counterintuitive to think that in order to live sustainably you have to work at it. But I for one enjoy the challenge and the creativity that spurs from not giving up on small things that seem useless. Be it peach skins or toiled paper rolls, inspiration to repurpose and redefine the purpose of this and that is a wonderful thing to behold.

IMG_0312IMG_0314

Peach Skin Salt

Peach Skins

Coarse Celtic Sea Salt

Directions: Preheat oven to 200 degrees F. Arrange the peach skins out in a single layer on a baking sheet lined with a sil pat or parchment paper. Bake the skins on low for 4 – 6 hours – until they are crisp and dry but not burnt. Remove them from the oven and allow them to cool at room temperature.

Place the cooled and dried skin in a small food processor or coffee/spice grinder. Add some big pinches of salt (I didn’t measure but maybe 1 tablespoon of salt per 3 loose cups of skins? Just eyeball it – its only salt). Whiz the salt and skins together until they form a course powder. Repeat the process as necessary if you have more skins and salt.

I’m not sure how long this will keep for – but I am erring on the indefinite side since it is half salt after all. In my head I am imagining this sprinkled on anything with strong tones of vanilla or just on toast with butter. 

Leave a Reply

